Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Conditionally limit detail records in master-detail form (Oracle Forms 10g, 10.1.2.3, Linux)
Conditionally limit detail records in master-detail form [message #432689] Wed, 25 November 2009 13:44 Go to next message
dlwixon

I have a master detail form that shows one master record and initially 10 detail records. The user can add more than 10 if they want. There is a relation on the master block that connects the two blocks.

Is there a way to conditionally limit the number of detail records are displayed and allowed if a certain value is entered into a control block field?

icon14.gif  Re: Conditionally limit detail records in master-detail form [message #432690 is a reply to message #432689] Wed, 25 November 2009 14:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
infosuresh2k

yes you can do this using forms default where clause

set_block_property('detail_block', default_where, 'detail_block.id = '||:master_block.id||'AND ROWNUM <='||:CTRL_BLK.RECORD);
go_block('DETAIL_BLOCK');
EXECUTE_QUERY;

* :CTRL_BLK.RECORD u can enter 10 or 20 etc.,

Regards,
Suresh V
Re: Conditionally limit detail records in master-detail form [message #432693 is a reply to message #432690] Wed, 25 November 2009 15:03 Go to previous messageGo to next message
dlwixon
Thanks.

But I don't want to enter a query in the blocks.

The form is for data entry. So I want to limit (in some instances) how much a user can enter into the detail section.
Re: Conditionally limit detail records in master-detail form [message #432695 is a reply to message #432693] Wed, 25 November 2009 15:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
infosuresh2k

Set block level 'Maximum Records Fetched Property' to 10 or 20 ...

or

set_block_property('detail_block', MAX_RECORDS_FETCHED, :ctrl_blk.record_num);

Regards,
Suresh V

[Updated on: Wed, 25 November 2009 15:18]

Report message to a moderator