Home » Other » General » Moving into Java need advice
Moving into Java need advice [message #449147] Sat, 27 March 2010 07:01 Go to next message
Aussiedev
Hi all,

I didn't know where else to put this so I'm using the general forum.

I've been a PL/SQL developer for 11 years now, I started on version 7 and am now working in version 10g. I've picked up some forms in the last year and a half but obviously the future is java.

I've never had any reason to write any java in the past but perhaps I should have started learning it earlier. nevertheless I want to teach myself.

I guess my question is twofold.

I have no Idea practically how java is used relation to oracle in the real world. I'm still of the opinion that most applications benefit from having a large amount of business logic held close to the database in PL/SQL packages. Could you briefly give me some examples as to why a java program should be anything except a thin data access procedure with all the data manipulation done by the database itself? e.g. are java stored procedures more common than external java applications that interact with oracle (I could be seriously mis-understanding something here).

The second part is: If I want to become proficient with java in relation to oracle databases, can you recommend any good tutorials or books that I could start with. I guess I'm specifically looking at middle-tier or low-level java programming rather than front end type stuff.

I apologise for my ignorance, and sorry if this has been asked before - I did a brief search and couldn't seem to find anything.

By the way, I have read through this (can't post links as this is my first post):
download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B19306_01/java.102/b14187/chone.htm

but am wondering how to proceed from there.

Thank you in advance.

[Updated on: Sat, 27 March 2010 07:10]

Report message to a moderator