Home » Developer & Programmer » Application Express, ORDS & MOD_PLSQL » Turning a table model into a DDL to import into APEX (APEX 11g)
Turning a table model into a DDL to import into APEX [message #583510] Wed, 01 May 2013 12:22 Go to next message
verifyjjones
im a total noob when it comes to oracle but im taking a class where we use apex and my professor wants us to import a table model into apex. everytime i try and import my table it says "your export file is not supported". i asked my professor what to do and he said "You should gen a ddl file from designer. Then use that to upload into apex and then run." im not sure what that means exactly. any ideas?
Re: Turning a table model into a DDL to import into APEX [message #583513 is a reply to message #583510] Wed, 01 May 2013 12:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Do you use Oracle Designer? I suppose you do (otherwise, professor wouldn't suggest it. Would he?). Well, I don't. However, I suppose that there must be an option which allows you to generate DDL script from the data model. These would be CREATE TABLE statements, possibly ALTER TABLE (when it comes to creating constraints), CREATE INDEX and stuff.

I'm not sure what you should do with that script, though. Run it through Application Express' SQL Workshop? Although it might be handy in some cases, I almost never used it. I prefer other tools (such as SQL Developer or TOAD or some other GUI, or even SQL*Plus). Anyway, I believe that all of that can be done in Apex SQL Workshop as well.
Re: Turning a table model into a DDL to import into APEX [message #583515 is a reply to message #583513] Wed, 01 May 2013 12:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message
verifyjjones
We use Oracle data modeler to create the ERD model then engineer it into the table model. After that were supposed to turn the table model into a DDL and import it into SQL scripts in Apex.