Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Long running SELECT that should be erroneous (11.2.0.3.0, WIN 2008 R2)
icon5.gif  Long running SELECT that should be erroneous [message #621630] Fri, 15 August 2014 03:11 Go to next message
OfflineVIP
Hello,

first I have to say, that I'm totally new to Oracle DB. I've seen it the first time last week...
Yesterday I stumbled on a behaviour of the software, that I don't really understand and I hope, you can help me.
At the EM performance folder, there is an activity, that runs since a long time (at least since yesterday). Please see the attached screenshots. And there's my first question: Where can I see, at which time it started?
But what I really want to know: Why does it run so long? Normally it has to quit with an error. If I copy the statement to sqlplus it says:
SQL> select version from sys.product_component_version@ods where upper(product) like '%ORACLE%';
select version from sys.product_component_version@ods where upper(product) like '%ORACLE%'
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-02019: connection description for remote database not found

SQL>

And that's what I expect (because 'ods' is not set in tnsnames.ora). What can I do now? Can I abort the statement in any way?

Thank you and best regards

Fabain
Re: Long running SELECT that should be erroneous [message #621631 is a reply to message #621630] Fri, 15 August 2014 03:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Roachcoach
v$session holds SQL_EXEC_START, you'll need to find the sid you're looking for, obviously.

As to why the db link doesnt work, make certain you are using the same account, if it is not the same account you've a good chance of getting unexpected behaviour.
Re: Long running SELECT that should be erroneous [message #621632 is a reply to message #621631] Fri, 15 August 2014 03:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
OfflineVIP
Thank you for the answer! What do I wrong?
SQL> select sql_exec_start from v$session where sql_id='3hbam82tyc3h2';

SQL_EXEC