Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » invalid objects after db restore (suse linux enterprise server 11)
invalid objects after db restore [message #626256] Thu, 23 October 2014 16:49 Go to next message
chillkroetle
Hi guys,

i'm very new with oracle and try to learn the ropes. So i have create a VMware virtual Machine with suse enterprise linux 11 and install oracle 11g R2 with the howto from novell. Everything works fine. So i configure oracle backup with rman and a custom backup configuration with the oracle enterprise manager. Next i try to generate a worst case zenario. I installed a second Vmware virtual Machine with the same suse and oracle version and try to restore the backup from the other machine.
First i can't restore the backup because of the ora parameter file, so i delete this file and then a restore was possible. After the restore my own schema users are working correct but i see a lot of invalid objects in the enterprise manager. (see screenshot1).

a few of them could i correct with the custom script from the site http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/misc/recompiling-invalid-schema-objects.php and with the oracle utlrp.sql. See screenshot2

How can i correct the last invalid object? Do they come from a mistake from my restore? I hope you can help me.

Re: invalid objects after db restore [message #626257 is a reply to message #626256] Thu, 23 October 2014 16:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
chillkroetle
and here is the screenshot2
Re: invalid objects after db restore [message #626261 is a reply to message #626257] Thu, 23 October 2014 19:31 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mahesh Rajendran
Account Moderator
>>I installed a second Vmware virtual Machine with the same suse and oracle version
Are those objects valid in source/primary?
If your restore was fine, it should have restored what was there in backup (of source).
In the second VM/ site, are Oracle binaries installed with the same options as in Source?