Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL -Report missing string when running a query (Oracle 11 windows 10)
SQL -Report missing string when running a query [message #685605] Wed, 16 February 2022 14:35 Go to next message
Kevin1967
I am new to sql and this forum, looking for some help.
Thank you for your cooperation

Table name Group
Column - name

SBM-TRANS-ROSE Exective Staff | MCB-FRAM-ROUG Personnel executif
ATM-CPES-ROSE Mgt | VAC-FRAM-VERT Gestion
SBM-TRANS-ROSE-MANG TSFD | MCB-FRAM-ROUG-TOMG ESAN
SBM-TRANS-ROSE-MANG OT | MCB-FRAM-ROUG-TOM LAX

Required Output

SBM-TRANS-ROSE | MCB-FRAM-ROUG
ATM-CPES-ROSE | VAC-FRAM-VERT
SBM-TRANS-ROSE-MANG-TSFD | MCB-FRAM-ROUG-TOMG-ESAN
SBM-TRANS-ROSE-MANG-OT | MCB-FRAM-ROUG-TOM-LAX

Select G.name,
SUBSTR(G.NAME,1,INSTR(G.NAME,' ')-1) || ' | ' || SUBSTR(SUBSTR(G.NAME,INSTR(G.NAME,' | ',-3)+3),1,INSTR(SUBSTR(G.NAME,INSTR(G.NAME,' | ',-3)+3),' ')-1) as txt4
from Group G

My issue when I run the query I got the following ,
SBM-TRANS-ROSE | MCB-FRAM-ROUG
ATM-CPES-ROSE | VAC-FRAM-VERT
SBM-TRANS-ROSE-MANG | MCB-FRAM-ROUG-TOMG
SBM-TRANS-ROSE-MANG | MCB-FRAM-ROUG-TOM

I am missing TSFD and ESAN in the third row
OT and LAX in the fourth row

Re: SQL -Report missing string when running a query [message #685606 is a reply to message #685605] Thu, 17 February 2022 00:19 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator

Welcome to the forum.
Please read the OraFAQ Forum Guide and How to use [code] tags and make your code easier to read.
Indent the code, use code tags and align the columns in result.
Make sure that lines of code do not exceed 100 characters when you format.

Also always post your Oracle version, with 4 decimals (query v$version), as often solution depends on it.