Home » RDBMS Server » Server Utilities » startup nomount - Error
startup nomount - Error [message #71000] Mon, 26 August 2002 06:26 Go to next message
Manju
Hello,
i was trying to create a instance, i am ran into a
problem finding which version is running on my unix machine...i do have both 8.0.6 and 8.1.7 directory under orcale/products. i was thinking that i am on 8.0.6 and trying to put the init.ora file under 8.0.6 and trying to create a instance....so i am getting the following error... now my problem is to find the correct orcale version and make sure which is running..and the create a instance....this may seems simple but i am new to this ...so let me know

TIA
MANJU

oracle@manhp3:/opt/app/oracle/product/8.0.6/dbs$ svrmgrl =/opt/app/oracle/admin/
opctr2/pfile/initopctr2.ora

Oracle Server Manager Release 3.1.7.0.0 - Production

Copyright (c) 1997, 1999, Oracle Corporation. All Rights Reserved.

Oracle8i Enterprise Edition Release 8.1.7.0.0 - 64bit Production
JServer Release 8.1.7.0.0 - 64bit Production

SVRMGR> connect internal
Connected.
SVRMGR> startup nomount
LRM-00109: could not open parameter file '/opt/app/oracle/product/8.1.7/dbs/init
opctr2.ora'
ORA-01078: failure in processing system parameters
SVRMGR>
Re: startup nomount - Error [message #71002 is a reply to message #71000] Mon, 26 August 2002 10:01 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mahesh Rajendran
Account Moderator
set your ORACLE_HOME to your new oracle home (806)
and ORACLE_SID to the new sid.
and try again.
Re: startup nomount - Error [message #71022 is a reply to message #71000] Tue, 27 August 2002 12:29 Go to previous message
Grant
One thing to keep in mind in unix is the init.ora file must be located in $ORACLE_HOME/dbs if not specified on the command line. The other problem is your PATH and ORACLE_HOME environment variables are set to the 8.1.7 code tree. I am assuming you have a create database script so...