Home » Server Options » Data Guard » standby alternative... is it possible?
standby alternative... is it possible? [message #110867] Thu, 10 March 2005 14:44 Go to next message
DBAgurrl
hello,

considering this architecture:

1 quad xenon machine + 1 dual xenon machine both installed with oracle 9i enterprise edition over RHEL AS 3.0. and connected to a raid'd emc2 SAN which hosts the datafiles for two separate oracle instances.

is this possible:

quad xenon dies, bring up the dual xenon pointing to the same exact files that the quad was pointing to.

essentially, the SAs are saying that they would pull out the drives of the down quad xenon and insert them into the dual xenon. both machines would be identical except for the number of CPUs.

will the dual xenon have any issue reading/writing to the database files stored on the SAN? will both oracle instances start up (and recover) without problems once the drives are installed in the dual xenon machine?

i have NO experience with SAN, and am trying to convice the SAs that standby is the only efficient means for failover (considering our budget), but they disagree...

any help would be most appreciated. i need ammunition!!

thanks!

kris

Re: standby alternative... is it possible? [message #110925 is a reply to message #110867] Fri, 11 March 2005 02:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank Naude
Hi,

Yes, it should work - I've seen many sites that do exactly this. However, backup the database and schedule some test to ensure the solution is working as proposed.

A physical standby database will, however, still be better as you will have a duplicate set of the data on a separate machine. You are thus covered in case something happens to the machine or to the SAN.

Best regards.

Frank
Re: standby alternative... is it possible? [message #110982 is a reply to message #110867] Fri, 11 March 2005 11:52 Go to previous messageGo to next message
jbatista