Home » Server Options » Replication » Replication between 4 nodes
icon5.gif  Replication between 4 nodes [message #128336] Mon, 18 July 2005 01:12 Go to next message
Achchan
Hi all,
I want to synchronize a master database with content of 3 other databases.In other word,Changed data should take effect in master database in online manner.All databases are in a LAN or high speed DSL.
I first decided to do this using some triggers on 3 databases tables with proper database link to master one.
But somebody told me the best way is Replication.I have no replication experience.Is that the proper way in your opinion?
Where should I find some resource about this topic?
-Best wishes
Re: Replication between 4 nodes [message #128413 is a reply to message #128336] Mon, 18 July 2005 07:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
smartin
First, make sure you really want to do replication before you actually do it. If all 4 nodes are on one LAN, why is it you have 4 separate databases instead of one database, possibly with RAC? Also oracle has some other options like standby databases (logical and physical), streams, and change data capture, in addition to replication, which may solve your need depending on what exactly your need is.

There is documentation on all of these options, usually just reading chapter one of each guide will give you a good enough idea about each choice to determine if you should pursue further.

But the big question to answer is, why have 4 separate databases which need to be kept in synch in the first place?
Re: Replication between 4 nodes [message #128487 is a reply to message #128413] Mon, 18 July 2005 23:11 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Achchan
That is just a demo version of our solution!
In fact there will be 10-15 databases in different places and ONE master database that will reside in Management department and want to manage,report,....