Home » Developer & Programmer » Reports & Discoverer » Oracle reports builder
Oracle reports builder [message #235929] Tue, 08 May 2007 07:43 Go to next message
mbl73
Hi, I am relatively new to Oracle, can anyone help with this? I created a report based on a table created in the Before Parameter Form trigger(it is populated in the After Parameter Form trigger). I have 2 problems, I have to compile the report every time I open it in Report Builder. The second problem is that only one person can access the report at a time. I want to create the table based on the username so that more than one person can access it
Re: Oracle reports builder [message #235931 is a reply to message #235929] Tue, 08 May 2007 07:47 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Do not create a table in report's trigger; that's a bad idea. You'd rather create an "ordinary" table in this user's schema, or even a "global temporary table" which might suit your needs even better, as it will allow every user to use its own record set (although in the same table). Read more about this concept in Oracle documentation (or use Googled).
Re: Oracle reports builder [message #235946 is a reply to message #235931] Tue, 08 May 2007 08:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
mbl73
Thank you for responding so quickly. What I need to do is create these tables when the report is going to be run and then delete them after the report is completed. Regarding the "global temporary table" suggestion, if I create this one table "temp" outside of the report, how can I,in the report,declare it as a global temporary table thus allowing access by multiple users? Just for reference, if I create a global temporary table with the name g_temp within a report, if 3 different users access the report at the same time, will there be any conflict with the table name?
Thanks again ...